1872 Electoral Rolls from Sparta

1872 Electoral Rolls, Agios Ioannis, Papagiannakos

1872 Electoral Rolls, Agios Ioannis, Panagiotis Papagiannakos, line 1975

I have spent this weekend reading the 1872 Electoral Rolls from Sparta. I was very excited to find my great-grandfather, Panagiotis Papagiannakos listed with his father, Nikolaos, in their home village of Agios Ioannis (St. Johns) (line 1975)!  This particular set of records have been typed, which is a huge blessing for me, as I can read some Greek. I keep a list of surnames of my immediate and collateral lines, and when I find a name, I enter it and the pertinent data into an Excel spreadsheet. I then type these names into my RootsMagic Greek Research database.

I print out the Greek records and the spreadsheets, then put these into my research notebook. That way, I have the original record and my transcription — invaluable when I’m trying to find a specific record weeks or months after transcribing it.

These 1872 Electoral Rolls are digitized and online at the website of the Greek Archives.

3 thoughts on “1872 Electoral Rolls from Sparta

  1. Carol, Thanks to you, I just took a closer look at GAK and found many of my family listed in a voter list from 1873. I had looked quite a while back and hadn’t noticed anything. My family is mostly from Kontovazaina, Gortynia, but most of the info was listed under an old name for the area – Elefsinos. THANK YOU!

    • Thanks so much for letting me know and for relaying the info about Elefsinos. Your experience fits right in with what I’m faced with — I was looking at some 1843 voting lists last night and there are villages around Sparta with names that are completely unfamiliar to me. I will need to look in a Gazetteer to see what happened to these villages. One of them, LITHISIS, had a “Mihalakakos” surname listed, which is the topic of my recent post about the Aridas/Mihalakakos name. So I am excited to try (repeat, try) to read the old script. I so appreciated your writing to me. Your people are farther north than mine in the Peloponnese, but we all can truly help each other. Thanks again!

Please leave a reply

